Heartache and Joy

Today, my heart is full of love, but also filled with sadness.  I had to say goodbye to my 24 wonderful 5th graders and it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  Over the past 4 months, my mentor’s students have become my students, and I care deeply about each of them.  Knowing that I will most likely never see any of them again brings me a lot of heartache, but to reminisce on the last 4 months I have been lucky enough to spend with them brings me an immense amount of joy.

I had written cards to each of my students telling them the things I valued about them as an individual and thanking them for allowing me to be their teacher, and to my surprise they pulled cards for me out of their desks.  I was gifted with 24 beautiful, handmade cards and a copy of Oh the Places You’ll Go signed by all of my students.  I managed to escape with only a few tears.

Everyone thinks it is the teacher’s job to teach the student, but let me assure you that it is often times reversed.  Sure, my students have learned figurative language and history of America from me, but I have learned so much more from them.  I have learned to love and how to be a great teacher, how to laugh and embrace my personality, and most of all how to find the joy in each day.  As I head into my first classroom this fall, I feel confident that I will rock it, all in thanks to these amazing 24 kiddos that I have spent the last 4 months with.

Peace out, Hartford.  Thanks for everything.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

