Friday, Friday, Gotta Get Down on Friday

I am so glad its almost the weekend.  I feel like I have been hit by a bus and repeatedly backed over this week.  I am so ready to spend some time with my roommates for our shopping date tonight and to spend time with my family for Easter Sunday.  One sad thing about student teaching is that I don’t get to take advantage of Simpson’s Easter Recess, so its back to school on Monday for me.

I have spent my week observing and helping in our special ed/behavior classroom.  We have a few students with Down Syndrome that I have spent time with, and then lots of students with behavior management problems.  I have no real experience working with special needs students, so this was an excellent learning opportunity for me. I have learned so much just in this one week.

One thing that stood out to me was how loving and forgiving a lot of the special needs students are.  Their teacher’s day is filled with hugs and hearing how beautiful she is.  After every problem one would get right, they would jump up and do a group hug.  They monitor each other’s behavior and make sure to remind each other the appropriate way to behave.  With my horrible week I was having, these students were a daily reminder of how easy it really is to find good in the world.

This upcoming week I will be observing in some 4th grade classrooms.  Although 4th and 5th are very close and both considered upper elementary, there is a large maturity gap between the two grades.  I helped out a few days last month in 4th grade and felt it was an experience, so spending even more time in there should be interesting.  I will also have my final evaluation for student teaching.  It is scary how close I am to being a college grad!

I hope that this Friday goes quick for you and that you are able to sneak out of work a few minutes early or something.  Enjoy your weekends and Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

