An Unfamiliar Sting

This week is not off to the best start.  I found out on Monday morning that I did not get the job I had interviewed for.  I made it to the top two, but in the end the teaching team decided the other candidate was a better fit for what they needed.  I think this was the first job I have ever interviewed for and not gotten.  It was a sad awakening to the real world, and to the teaching profession.  To outsiders, this looks like such an easy career to get into.  I mean for heaven’s sake, there’s a school around every corner.  In reality though, its one of the most cut throat jobs there is.  Think about it…from my teaching group alone there are around 60 teachers and we all want jobs in the 10 same neighboring schools that all maybe have one position open.  The new law changes in education are in some way beneficial for me, as they are opening up more spots as teachers who can move away do, but even with that there just isn’t enough spots for all of us.

For those of you that know me, I am a somewhat emotional person.  It is my great pleasure to announce that I did not cry once at school yesterday, even though every teacher in the building brought up how sad they were I didn’t get the position.  One uplifting piece of knowledge that I gained though was that there may be another 5th grade position opening up soon.  This was the grade I had originally wanted to apply for here, so perhaps this is all for the best.  The principal encouraged me to apply for that position as well, and I would think that much like this past one I will have a good shot at it.

After dinner with my amazing parents last night, I have been able to put a bandage on my fresh wound and begin to feel it healing.  Of course in the moment, I felt like it was the end of the world for me to not get that job, but with each minute that passes I am beginning to come to terms with the idea that it was not the end of the world, but truly just the “one door closing”, and now I must wait for the “another one opens.”

Please continue to pray for me and send good thoughts as I journey into adulthood.  It is all so much harder than the other adults prepare us newbies for!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

