Taking a Breather

The ending of my week was amazing.  I have officially paid my licensing fee and been fingerprinted for the Department of Education, I am now certified in Mental Health First Aide, and I got to spend Read Across America Day (Dr. Seuss’ birthday) with my students.

Being fingerprinted for the first time was quite the experience, very intimidating.  There is a lot of paperwork to fill out and it is rather expensive, but it is nice to know I will have once less thing to worry about when graduation comes around.  It is definitely another reminder of how close I am to the completion of this program.

I spent all of Friday in Mental Health First Aide training, and I left certified.  As some of you may know, I am a HUGE proponent for mental health awareness, and this program was of great interest to me.  It is a training I had wanted to do at some point, and I was lucky enough to have it done for free right now.  The Cameron Carico Foundation paid for this training for all of the Simpson student teachers, and I am very appreciative.  The training is meant to help teachers and parents identify signs and symptoms of common mental illnesses, and coaches you through how to talk to students about these.  Suicide is now the second leading cause of death for adolescents, and this training was created in hopes of combatting that statistic.

On a happier note, Read Across America Day was a nice, relaxing way to end my school week.  The entire school took the last hour of the day to break into groups all over the building, build forts out of pillows and blankets, and then read and spend time hanging out.  It was an awesome opportunity to show off my fort building skills (see example in the cover photo), and to get to know my students better.  Since we were doing fort building and chilling, it was also Pajama Day, which is my favorite thing ever.  Overall, another wonderful week.  I am beginning to get very sad as I realize how close the end of this experience is.  I have come to truly love my students, and it will be extremely difficult to leave them at the end of these 15 weeks.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

