Halfway There

This week marks my midpoint in student teaching!  It is crazy how fast time is going by.  It seems like last week I was walking in here scared out of my mind.  Now, I come to school each day excited for whatever it throws at me.  In the weeks that I have been here, I have experienced so much personal growth.  I am far more comfortable with planning and leading a lesson, disciplining a student when necessary, and also just being myself with my co-teachers and students.  I had my midterm evaluation with my supervisor and mentor, and it went really well.  I was right in the area I was aiming for, where I am good at most things, but still have areas for growth.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, growth is a continuous part of this field, and every field.  I love that my mentor takes time to truly consider things I need to work on and helps me to achieve success in those areas.

My first week of my social studies unit has gone well so far.  It is difficult to work with a completely different set of students.  Because of the way the rotations work, I have never met most of the people in this class before now.  Learning discipline that works for them, and also the different ways to keep them engaged has been challenging.  Talking to their homeroom teacher has helped a lot, as well as having one-on-one conversations with students who seem to struggle with behavior.

The principal observed my whole group reading lesson on Tuesday.  It was definitely not my best lesson, but also not my worst.  We had Iowa Assessments right before it, which I hadn’t realized as I was planning, so they were pretty hyper after sitting there for an hour and testing.  I will talk to the principal about the observation on Monday, as well as do a mock interview, so it should be an interesting day.

Overall, a good start to my week.  I am still applying for every job I can find, so keep your fingers crossed.  It is stressful to be applying as a new teacher.  For a lot of districts, they hire from within so I am trying to find things that really make me stand out.  My mentor has been a big help with this, and it makes me even more appreciative of her!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

